AS220 Shop

Introduction to the Darkroom

(1 available)
(4 available)
Workshop Description 
Learn your way around the Paul Krot Community Darkroom. From mixing chemicals to understanding enlargers, gain a hands on introduction to traditional black and white photo printing. Students should bring two rolls of exposed film to class to develop. The cost of the workshop includes a material fee of $20 consisting of  film, five sheets of RC paper, and chemistry.
Note: This workshop goes over learning the darkroom only. If you would like to understand using your 35mm camera, enroll in the Intro to 35mm workshop the week before this one. You can register for that here.
 
Instructor: Samuel Thompson
 
Location and Parking

The AS220 Media Arts Paul Krot Community Darkroom is located at 115 Empire St, Providence, Rhode Island on the 2nd floor. Buzz the Darkroom when you arrive! There is 2 hour metered on-street parking available, bring your quarters. We are also located near a parking garage with entry on Washington Street, look for the big blue parking sign.

Important Class Policies

Please be respectful of the short time you and the other participants have to learn and arrive on time. If you are more than half an hour late, we will not be able to teach you what you signed up for. Plan ahead, it always takes time to find on-street parking. 
To cancel your reservation, you must email chris@as220.org at least two weeks in advance, or risk losing your payment.

CANCELLATION OF CLASSES

If the minimum number is not met in class enrollment, the teacher may opt to cancel class. If this is the case, we will give a full refund of class payment and first choice to enroll in future classes. We will attempt to give as much notice as possible.

 

you might also be interested in...

Locations & Contacts

AS220 Industries
Mercantile Block, 131 Washington Street, Lucie Way Entrance, Providence, RI.

95 Empire, 95 Empire Street
Providence, RI. Black Box, first floor; Aborn classroom, Psychic Readings, second floor; dance studio, third floor.

Beth Brandon
Industries Coordinator
beth.brandon@as220.org

Lara Henderson
Printshop Manager
lara.henderson@as220.org

James Rutter
Labs Manager
james.rutter@as220.org

Chris Anderson
Media Arts Manager
chris.anderson@as220.org

Betsy Miller
95 Empire Dance Coordinator
betsy.miller@as220.org

Neal Walsh
Gallery Director
neal.walsh@as220.org